RF17 – ANTICIPATION – Artists & Vocabulary

six more days, 16 hours, 30 minutes and counting!

Roskilde Festival preparations are well under way. All artists have been appointed a time and place to perform and my Danish language skills are better than they’ve ever been (which isn’t hard considering I knew zero Danish words before last year’s festival).

Before sharing my first Danish words with you, let me pick up up where I left off last time with my Artist A, B, C.

If you’re craving for some good old (but not old at all!) dark garage-rock music, give Dør Nr. 13 a click. It’s all in Danish so don’t ask me about what it all means but in this case it doesn’t really matter.

And if you are craving for a “Dafuq did I just watch”-sensation, watch Father John Misty’s “Total Entertainment Forever”-video. When I listened to it without the video, it reminded me of REM with a whim of the Beatles.

And then: the Foo Fighters! No need for introductions, right? The Pretender is one of my favorite songs of all time, but have you seen/heard their new song, Run? I’m not completely on board yet…

 

If you need to catch your breath after running with the Foo Fighters, Gangly will bring your heart rate down to more chilled out levels. I’m not completely sure how their music will work out on a live stage, but I can totally see me putting their tunes on in the background during a loungey summer get-together with friends…

The last name I want to share is Hamilton Leithauser. I know, comparisons always suck, but if anything he is a cross between Rod Stewart and Bob Dylan…

Watch it and tell me I’m wrong:

 

…and now it is time for a Danish lesson. If I read the words it makes sense to me. It is not so different from Dutch. The pronunciation is pretty daunting though…

What I have figured out is that g’s are pretty much silent in Danish, which is interesting as they are very prominent in Dutch…  So, where Dutchies say “goede morgen” with a throat scraping sound at every “g”, the Danish have “Godmorgen”, but pronounce it as “Gomorn” and “Goddag” is pronounced pretty much like the English “Good Day”.

A YouTube language tutorial that is helping me along is this one:

Hjælp!

One thought on “RF17 – ANTICIPATION – Artists & Vocabulary

Leave a Reply

